EUROCITIES is the network of major European cities. Members are the elected local and municipal governments of major European cities. EUROCITIES was founded in 1986 by the mayors of six large cities: Barcelona, Birmingham, Frankfurt, Lyon, Milan and Rotterdam and today it includes over 130 of Europe’s largest cities and 40 partner cities, that between them govern 130 million citizens across 35 countries. The EU’s Commission and the EU’s Committee of the Regions are partners of EUROCITIES.