Innovation and Science |

European Space Agency

European Space Agency

Richer in European Identity

The European Space Agency (ESA) is Europe’s gateway to space. ESA in concert with the European Union, national bodies responsible for space and international partners, manages the research and development programmes needed to maintain the position as second to none in space for the future.

Its mission is to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world. By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, it can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. ESA is an international organisation with 22 Member States. Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Canada takes part in some projects under a Cooperation agreement.

Bulgaria, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Slovenia are ‘European Cooperating States’. Other countries have signed cooperation agreements with ESA.

brandeu_adminEuropean Space Agency