Sports |

Ryder Cup

Ryder Cup

Europe: Top Global Golfer

The Ryder Cup is a biennial men’s golf competition between teams from Europe and the United States. The competition is contested every two years with the venue alternating between courses in the USA and Europe. Since 1979, Europe has won ten times outright and retained the Cup once in a tied match, with seven American wins over this period. In addition to players from Great Britain and Ireland, the European team has included players from Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Sweden..

The Ryder cup remains an exception within the world of professional sports because the players receive no prize money despite the contests being a high-profile event that brings in large amounts of money in television and sponsorship revenue. The current holders are Europe who won for the third successive time at the Gleneagles Hotel in Perth & Kinross, Scotland in 2014. The 2016 Ryder Cup will be at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minnesota from September 30 to October 2.

brandeu_adminRyder Cup